rebel.lio

El meu insurrecció

Endless Hyena

hyenas

Endless Hyena

Somber refrain slowly walks across a keyboard
over and again endless
and endlessly sad
as a progression of innocents
numbers endlessly increasing
increasingly endless
tattered rags wrapped around swollen limbs
missing limbs
nightmarish pallor on broken skin
slowly marching toward relentless horizons
remaining far distant horizons
no matter the miles of dragging feet
feet dragged endless miles
carrying eyes in forward staring
filled with vacant tears reflecting sand
and nothing

I watch endlessly
as hyena circle closer
brushing fur against the fabric of my pants
brushing harder for attention
beckoning me to look at the tears in their eyes
listen to the hunger in their bellies
endless hunger
hauntingly crying
waiting
endlessly waiting
tears forming mud
mud staining the leather of my shoes

Miles of moms and dads
grandmas. grandpas, aunts and uncles
miles of brothers and sisters
all flowing in one direction
flowing endlessy
Some from Palestine and some
from Libya
and from Sudan and Yemen
Endlessly from Iraq and Syria
Miles from Burma
more from Cameroon
Chad
Afghanistan
Nigeria
Maili
Ukraine
endless miles
all flowing in one direction
toward an ever shifting horizon
all in tattered cloth covering wounded limbs
and missing limbs
and broken skin
all with pallor ashen
lifeless
endlessly lifeless
endlessly marching
shuffling
dragging swollen eyes filled with vacant tears reflecting sand
and nothing.

I watch endlessy
as hyena circle closer
brushing fur against the fabric of my pants
brushing harder for attention
beckoning me to see the tears that have pooled in their eyes
hear the hunger tearing at their bellies
endless hunger
haunting cries
waiting
endlessly waiting
tears forming puddles in the sand
staining the leather of my shoes

I remember the card encased in plastic
placed safely in my wallet
secured in the fabric of my pants
I recall the reason I am here
and why they march endlessly
The reason why I watch as I follow endlessly
endlessly as we shuffle toward that increasingly
unreachable horizon

Two questions…

The first is What are the names of the five permanent members of the UN Security Council?
Answer: US, Russia, China, France and the UK
The second question is What other distinction do these five nations share?
Answer: They are the top five arms purveyors in the world.

This, I tell myself, is why even hyena cry
and why mud stains the leather of my shoes
it isn’t a hunger in the belly
I am not clean

Sad refrain walks from the keys of a saxophone
playing over and endless
endless

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

